I haven’t liked the holidays since I was a kid!

Holiday season is upon us. Gerrrr…

Call me Scrooge all you want, but I haven’t been in the holiday spirit since I was a kid and on the receiving end of everyone’s holiday gifts. I know, it is sad. But once I was old enough to live on my own and had to purchase gifts for everyone on my list and visit with everyone so no one would have their feelings hurt, I realized it was all a load of crap. Just the amount of time and money spent to make the majority of your family feel loved is nuts. I mean seriously? If I spent that time/money on you through out the year, wouldn’t that have more meaning? I am not so superficial that I think one must spend money on you to show how much they care, but we are talking about the holidays – you know the 3 months at the end of the year when most Americans spend the most money. FYI – Americans spend $42.3 Billion dollars from Nov.1 – Dec. 31st of 2012 per comscore.com.

So my distaste for the holiday season started about 10 years ago. I was living on my own making $10 an hour and I had about $200 to spend for Christmas. Being the frugal person I am, I knew I had about this much to spend heading into October. When the Halloween decorations came out right after back to school stuff was taken down, I knew to start planing then.  But, by mid-November I knew I wasn’t going to be able to purchase gifts, instead I had to make them. And so that year everyone got a fleece blanket from yours truly. I felt so ashamed because they weren’t that well made and I wasn’t able to buy my family members nice things. I vowed to do better next year. But as the years have gone on I have become disillusioned with the whole idea of Hallmark Holidays, as some people call them. Each year it gets worse. I cringe when I see Halloween stuff of display as early as August because I know I am about to be inundated with Thanksgiving and Christmas crap.

At my house the holidays pass with out much fan-fare. We do have a tree that we put up, but that is only because I think it looks pretty in hour living room. My boys and Husband do get gifts, and I do purchase myself something for them to give me (oh the joys of being a mother in a house full of boys). However, our gifts aren’t extravagant. Mostly needed items with one or two “wishes”.  I am sure my kids think they are getting the bad end of the deal, but I don’t see it that way. We enjoy our time with family and all the food. We have such a blended household that it seems like Thanksgiving takes 2 or 3 days, and Christmas can take almost two full weeks!

I would really like to get back to the basics when it comes to Holidays. Gather around for Thanksgiving and eat until you can not move. Spend time with family and watch some football, if that is what you want to do. Pick a house to visit, do the deed and then head home with way too many left overs. As for Christmas, if you are religious then go all out and do your thing. If you aren’t religious, like my house is, skip the whole darn thing. Christmas is for Christ, not greedy hands. Enjoy the day or two off from work, visit with family if you can, or just relax. Stop making it about how much you spend.

No wonder the youth are they way they are. No one loves them unless the buy them something.

Bah humbug!

 

Exit soap box – left

Any Advice?

